Down on her luck, Cynthia finds that patience pays off

 

Cynthia
Cynthia Alexis

Cynthia Alexis needed to find a job fast.

She had just received word that her employer was shutting its doors in Lancaster and relocating to Maryland. While the news was unsettling to all, who worked there, for Cynthia it was especially troubling.

“The bank was foreclosing on my house,” said Cynthia, a married mom of three boys. “I was so focused on losing my home that it was hard to think about much else. I needed to find work.”

With that singular goal in mind, Cynthia found the New Choices Career Development Program.

“The most important thing that I learned at New Choices was to remember my self-worth,” Cynthia said. “I was so focused on just finding a job that I wasn’t thinking about marketing myself for a career. Even though my life was a whirlwind, I learned the importance of keeping lines of communication open, networking, and interviewing practice.”

One of the many unexpected benefits of New Choices are the presentations from area social service non-profits and agencies in Lancaster County. With her finances in shambles, Cynthia was able to rebuild her life thanks to those organizations.

“It was a relief to know that there are resources out there to help people such as the Lancaster Housing Opportunities Program, food banks, clothing banks, budgeting … all those little things add up when you are down on your luck.”

The real breakthrough for Cynthia came during the vision board exercise. It was then that it became apparent that for her life to change, her expectations needed to change as well.

“It helped me to put in perspective short and long-term goals, and not everything can happen overnight,” Cynthia said. “I have all this experience in inventory management… I needed to market myself better based on that fact and find a career with the opportunity for growth within an organization.”

After graduating from New Choices, Cynthia continued to work with Executive Director Tricia Nabors to hone her interviewing and networking skills – both areas Cynthia admitted she needed lots of practice.

Cynthia kept up the hard work until she found a job posting on an online job site that seemed to be everything she was looking for in a career. After the interviewing procedure, she was hired to work in the inventory returns department at Clark Associates. True to her goals, the employer offers the potential for growth within the company!

The new job, and her efforts to pay off her debts, Cynthia was able to save her home.

“New Choices is the best-kept secret for people trying to reclaim their lives and to reestablish themselves back into the community,” Cynthia said. “Tricia’s mentoring helped me to realize that yes, I can.”

Cynthia returned to school this fall part-time in the evenings to pursue a business management degree from Harrisburg Area Community College. She hopes that earning an Associate’s Degree will increase her chances of a promotion at Clark Associates.

“I am so excited to be back in school,” Cynthia said. “It’s a way for me to demonstrate to my children to always finish what you started and to achieve your goals.”

Leave a Reply

